Click to View
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • Annual Meeting


                                              ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING
                                                        Saturday, May 3, 2003
                                           Westchester Marriott, Westchester, New York

    the Annual Membership Meeting was called to order at 1:15 PM by President Norman Jacknis.

    Following his welcome, Norm introduced the Board of Directors.

    Directors present: N. Jacknis, T. Thompson, E. Apostol, R. Strauss, J. Hurley, G. Manitzas, F. Picart, and N. Simaitis. Excused: S. Patton, E. Field, and B.Taber.  Association Manager Karen Dyer was also in attendance.

    A motion to approve the agenda for the Annual Membership Meeting of May 3, 2003 was made by Francis Picart, of the Brentwood Public Library, seconded by Richard Strauss of Jordan Free Library; unanimous.

    President’s Report
    Norm briefly commented on the success of the Advocacy Meetings held in Clarence, and Sachem.  Lobby Day in Albany provided a special opportunity for library trustees and other supporters to rally on the steps of the Capitol.  Norm congratulated and thanked everyone who attended these meetings.


     Another Advocacy meeting will be held in Syracuse on Monday May 5. 

    Future plans for the NYSALB web page include a place for trustee’s questions to be asked and answered, and the opportunity for Video Conferencing.


    The 2004 Trustee Institute will be April 30-May 1, 2004.

    A motion to approve the minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting of May 4, 2002 was made by Erin Apostol of the Upper Hudson Library System, seconded by Joan Hurley, Horseheads Free Library; unanimous.

    Financial Report
    A review of the Financial Statements for Calendar Year 2002 from Arthur R. Venezia, CPA was distributed to the membership.
    A motion to accept the Financial Report was made by Tina Thompson, Henrietta Public Library, seconded by Mary Ellen Forte, Mt. Vernon Library; unanimous.


    Page 2


    Old Business


    New Business

    The Chair of the Nominating Committee, T. Thompson, presented the slate for election to the Board of Directors:


                                    Erin Apostol – first  term – Upper Hudson Library System


                                    David Krogmann – second term – Crandall Public Library


                                    Joseph Provoncha – first term – Schroon Public Library


                                    Richard Strauss – second term – Jordan Free Library


                                    Jack Taylor – first term – Fluvanna Free Library


    A motion to approve the slate and have the Chair cast a single ballot was made by Norm Jacknis, Field Library, seconded by N. Simaitis, Waverly Free Library; unanimous.





    A motion to adjourn the meeting was made at 1:35 p.m. by J. Hurley Horseheads Free Library, seconded by

    G. Manitzas, Freeport Memorial Library; unanimous.


    Respectfully submitted,



    Jane Sweet, Secretary

    Copyright © 2010-2018 Prominence Solutions     |     Development & Hosting by Prominence Solutions     |     Site Map