The Library Trustees Foundation of New York (LTF), the predecessor of today’s Library Trustees Association of New York, was granted a charter on February 25, 1949. The original board members were dedicated to improving libraries and library services for the general public.

Velma K. Moore, the wife of former NYS Lieutenant Governor Frank C. Moore, was a charter member of the Library Trustee Foundation of NYS, and is identified in the founding document. She served two terms as the organization’s president. In addition, she served for many years as a trustee of the Kenmore Public Library (Buffalo and Erie County Library System).

The Velma K, Moore Award was established with a gift from the Moore family in 1962 to honor the memory of Mrs. Moore. From 1947 until her death in 1961, Velma actively worked to improve library services in New York State.

The award, presented annually at the Trustee Institute, carries a cash prize of $1,000, which is given to the recipient’s library of choice. The award is granted to an individual or group of individuals who has made exemplary contributions to the development of library services in NYS. Nominees may include trustees, a community member, staff or any group of library supporters.

Criteria for evaluating nominees includes service to local, county, system or state libraries which measurably advances the effectiveness of these libraries; service in areas of legislation or other support that advances library causes; promotion services through publishing, speaking or involvement in professional or lay library groups or organizations; service to state or national library organizations; and/or service on state study committees.

The nomination process for the 2012 won’t begin until the end of this year. Now is the time, however, to begin thinking about possible candidates from your library, library system or community. LTA is proud to continue the tradition of recognizing individuals who make a difference to libraries in New York State through the Velma K. Moore Award.

Velma K. Moore Award Recipients

1962 Thomas H. McKaig Hamburg, Erie County
1963 Harold S. Hacker Rochester, Monroe County
1964 Anthony J. Cerrato Yonkers, Westchester County
1965 Harold J. Baily Brooklyn, Kings County
1966 Frank H. Ryder Cobleskill, Schoharie County
1967 Richard W. Lawrence, Jr. Elizabethtown, Essex County
1968 Francis Bergan Albany, Albany County
1969 William J. Embler Schenectady, Schenectady County
1970 Chester B. Osrander Glens Falls, Warren County
1971 Polly Praeger Binghamton, Broome County
1972 Fred McChesney Scotia, Schenectady County
1973 Ruth E. Polson Ithaca, Tompkins County
1974 Danie W. Casey Solvay, Onondaga County
1975 Senator Warren M. Anderson Binghamton, Broome County
1976 Marguerite W. Yates Lockport, Niagara County
1977 Whitney North Seymour, Jr. New York, New York County
1978 Charles F. Gosnell Suffern, Rockland County
1979 Arthur R. Posner Rochester, Monroe County
1980 Stephen L. Oppenheim Monticello, Sullivan County
1981 Senator Hugh T. Farley Schenectady, Schenectady County
1981 Assemblyman Ed C. Sullivan New York, New York County
1981 Irving L. Kessler Rochester, Monroe County
1983 Theodore C. Wenzl Delmar, Albany County
1984 Esther W. Lopato Brooklyn, Kings County
1985 Stanley A. Ransom Plattsburgh, Clinton County
1986 Laura Bradley Chodos Rexford, Saratoga County
1987 Keela Rogers Lake Placid, Essex County
1988 Vartan Gregorian New York, New York County
1989 No Recipient
1990 Joan Silverstein New Rochelle, Westchester County
1991 Ira B. Harkavy Brooklyn, Kings County
1992 No Recipient
1993 Floyd Lichtenberg Ardsley, Westchester
1994 Richard B. Salomon New York, New York County
1995 Irwin Fredman Carmel, Putnam
1996 Joseph Shubert NYS Library
1997 Jesse Feiler Philmont, Columbia County
1998 Margaret Gowen Pittsford, Monroe County
1999 Janice Allen Willsboro, Essex County
2000 Maureen Koehl South Salem, New York
2001 Joseph Eisner Plainview, New York
2002 Mary Jo Ketchum Elma, New York
2003 Parry D. Teasdale Phoenicia, New York
2004 James L. Farrell, Jr. NYS Library’s Division of Library Development
2005 Merry M. Sparano Guilderland Town Library, Albany County
2006 Carol R. Gleason Tully Free Library, Onondaga County
2007 Beth Peck Western Sullivan Public Tusten-Cochecton Branch
2008 Claudia Radin Horseheads Library, Southern Tier Library System
2009 original Board of Trustees of the Corning Library Corning, New York
2010 Jean M. Reidy Somers, New York
2011 Elise Quimby Bridgehampton, Suffolk County