North Country Library System

In 1948, an experiment was conducted to see if New York State could promote shared services among small rural public libraries. The site of the experiment was Watertown, New York, and the results would change library service in America.   On the staff were eight librarians to help the member libraries adopt polices, improve their […]

Read more

LTA Summary of 4CLS

The Four County Library System (4CLS) is located in south-central New York and covers Broome, Chenango, Delaware, and Otsego County. 4CLS’s 4,000 square mile service area includes 42 member libraries. The largest library in the system is the Broome County Public Library, situated in Binghamton and chartered to serve to the entire county’s population. On […]

Read more

The Clinton-Essex-Franklin Library System

The Clinton-Essex-Franklin Library System spans a geographically isolated area of 164,000 square miles which is, as we like to describe in our public relations pieces, “approximately the size of the state of Connecticut.”  Member public libraries are dotted across a historically rich yet economically disadvantaged region that ranges from Tupper Lake, deep in the Adirondack […]

Read more

The Monroe County Library System

The Monroe County Library System is a federation of the 20 independent public libraries which serve Monroe County. It includes the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County and the Rochester Public Library’s branch library system; 19 town libraries in Brighton; Brockport;, Chili; East Rochester; Fairport; Gates; Greece; Hamlin; Henrietta; Irondequoit; Mendon; Ogden; Parma; Penfield; [...]

Read more


Page 3 of 5