Highlight on the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System (CCLS)

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System is a 36-member, two-county Western New York system serving the cities of Jamestown, Olean, and Dunkirk plus a sprawling rural area with concerns about population and manufacturing declines; the prevalence of low- income, part-time employment; limited educational attainment and functional literacy; and the digital divide. The system offers databases, interlibrary loan, […]

Read more

Library Trustees Association of NYS Board of Directors to present the following three awards:

Distinguished Service Award This award will be conferred on an individual or group of individuals for noteworthy achievement, as evidenced by substantial activities or exceptional service to the library community. Recipient(s) will be nominated and selected on a state-wide basis by the LTA Board of Directors and the award will be presented at the annual […]

Read more

Senator Farley Announces Establishment of Senate Library Committee

State Senator Hugh T. Farley (R,C, I – Schenectady) reports that he was named Chairman of a newly-created Senate Select Committee on Libraries. This 19-member bipartisan body was established on January 10th through passage of a Senate resolution.   “This new committee will help the Senate in promoting libraries and addressing their needs,” said Senator […]

Read more